Bristol Comic Expo 2012

I have a table at Bristol Comic Expo this weekend, May 12-13, where I’ll be selling copies of the brand new Scarifyers comic. (I can say this with confidence now, as the box arrived from the printers this morning!)

I should be easy to spot thanks to this rather smart, Garen Ewing-illustrated banner from Cosmic Hobo (the people behind The Scarifyers in both comic and audio adventure form).
Scarifyers banner
Here’s what you can expect from my table:

Scarifyers issue 1

The Scarifyers issue 1 – Bristol Expo is the first place you can buy this 32-page comic, based on the BBC radio series. Written by series creator Simon Barnard, with interior artwork by me and a beautiful colour cover by Garen Ewing, this instalment tells the story of DI Lionheart and Prof. Dunning’s first meeting.


original art example

All the original art from the first issue.


Character sketches

Character designs and behind-the-scenes artwork from the making of the comic.


Biscuits

Biscuits! And other items from the 1936 desk of Professor Dunning himself…


Raffle tickets. Yes, anyone buying The Scarifyers issue 1 from me this weekend will be entered into a daily prize draw, with a CHANCE OF WINNING EITHER THE LATEST SCARIFYERS CD, The Horror Of Loch Ness starring David Warner & Terry Molloy, OR A PAGE OF ORIGINAL ARTWORK!


There will also be a few copies of 200-page graphic history epic The Bristol Story, by Eugene Byrne & me. And, appropriately enough for the Expo venue of Brunel’s Old Station, I’ll have my Brunel postcards and copies of Brunel: A Graphic Biography.

I’ll be drawing all weekend so if you want anything sketched or signed, just come and say hi. I’m the one in the Professor Dunning costume!

Leave a Reply

