Postcards from an island

I’ve just found some postcards I sent to my children when I was working away from home a couple of years ago.

simon_blog

I was storyboarding some episodes of The Adventures of Abney & Teal for Ragdoll Productions in Stratford-upon-Avon, and it was the first time I’d been away from my family since my younger son was born. When I got back to my B&B room I would sometimes write (or rather draw, as they were then aged 1 and 3) to my kids. It was for my own enjoyment as much as theirs.

toby_blog

neep_blog

banana_blog

dipdap_blog

Related: The first Abney and Teal DVD was released recently. Faraway Island And Other Adventures contains eight episodes; Faraway Island, The Porridge Party, The Star Stick, The Storm, Stuck, The Radio, The Poc-Poc Hunt and The Train. None of these are stories I worked on but several are favourites of mine.

Series creator Joel Stewart’s blog can be found here, and co-writer Matilda Tristram’s brilliant comics are here. Both those links lead to many beautiful drawings. (The other writer on Abney & Teal, Steve Roberts, created Dipdap for Ragdoll. Dipdap appears in one of the postards above because his show is also one of my kids’ favourites.)

One thought on “Postcards from an island

Leave a Reply

